Jerusalem

I've chosen William Blake's poem Jerusalem for the challenge today for the immortal line "Among these dark Satanic mills"  Unfortunately today my shot of  "Holroyd's" mill in Old Lane Halifax doesn't look dark or satanic, and although the weather was as you see beautiful here, in the very next moment it was raining heavily.  I'd hoped for some atmospheric shots but I didn't manage any today.

Just behind the wall (on the left of my shot) is the Snicket or Slippery Slope Bridge made famous in 1937 by the photographer Bill Brandt.  I've often wondered where it was exactly, and now I know I may return and try and reproduce the shot - like so many others before me.

Jerusalem
And did those feet in ancient time
Walk upon England's mountains green
And was the holy Lamb of God
On England's pleasant pastures seen 

And did the Countenance Divine
Shine forth upon our clouded hills
And was Jerusalem builded here
Among these dark Satanic mills 

Bring me my bow of burning gold:
Bring me my arrows of desire:
Bring me my spear: O clouds unfold
Bring me my chariot of fire. 

I will not cease from mental fight,
Nor shall my sword sleep in my hand
Till we have built Jerusalem
In England's green and pleasant land.

Many thanks for visiting my journal and the kind response to my blips; thank you too to sk for hosting the challenge during September.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.