Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Days - MonoMonday, subject 'Favourite Poem'

So, MonoMonday, subject: Favourite Poem
An interesting one, this.  Thanks to sk for setting.
 
DAYS

What are days for?

Days are where we live.
They come, they wake us
Time and time over.
 
They are to be happy in:
Where can we live but days?
 
Ah, solving that question
Brings the priest and the doctor
In their long coats
Running over the fields.
 
Philip Larkin
 
I have a lot of favourite poems, this is just one of them, but it resonates right now.  The difficulty is that the poem’s largely abstract, the only visual picture being priest and doctor running over the fields.  Sorry, folks, I couldn’t set that one up for you.
 
So instead I have chosen to pair it with an image of a path leading to the fields, which begin just out of shot.  A fit choice, I thought, because it was beginning to rain leaves are a metaphor for days, and river for the passage of time.  Besides, the heart of my days is when I’m out walking with my camera, as I was here.  You know me, after years of buckling down, I’ve had enough of being a responsible adult!
 
Enjoy your evening  xx
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.