creative lenna

By creativelenna

Thank you dear friends

You have actually called me to post again because of how you reached out to me, here on blipfoto and also Facebook. I really wanted to say, thank you all so much. Your thoughts, prayers, love & kind comments during a trying time were very comforting to me.

Photos above: On the right side, at the shelter Saturday & Sunday. 
On the left, the damage at home and higher than normal water we came home to (you cant see the dock!)

Steve, my mom, her 2 dogs, our 1 dog Chloe, and our 2 cats rode out Hurricane Irma along with me, at Freedom Elementary School Shelter. My treasured friend Kathy Pickera works there & the school was built specifically to double as a Hurricane Shelter. Our plans kept changing depending on which way the track of Irma was going, it was so very stressful. Storm surge (water) was part of the equation as we live on the river and my mom on a bayou. Mom preferred to stay in her home with a generator if she could and we wanted to stay hunkered down in our home too, well . . . until it looked like the hurricane would be coming right towards us over the Gulf, which could have meant water up to our house or higher and terrible devastation from being hit.

At the same time, after a week of trying to prepare & decide, my HERO, Kathy Pickera stepped in. She texted me and asked what we are doing? Staying at our home - or leaving? Then she says, there is room at the school and I even have a staff room saved for guests that I could put all of you & your pets in. With a quick discussion and packing, we went there. Mom was already at our home and the school is close by. We had to bring air mattresses & dog beds/crates and kitties in carriers/crate & their food, but it was well worth the sense of peace and protection I received as soon as I got there. Kathy & the rest of the staff who were volunteering were so organized and ran everything so well. Over 1100 people sheltered there and they gave us 3 meals a day and kept things in place. The National Guard were there too. 

I cannot reiterate how grateful I am. We were extremely lucky. The whole state of FL was not as lucky, but we were. The track changed again and came over land south of us, then traveled over land northeast of us. This weakened the storm considerably. I believe it was a category 1 with winds around 80mph when it went over us. I heard the wind, but I felt safe. Because it was not a Cat 3 or 4 storm, the water surge was not bad, just a little. Some branches were down, but nothing big here. There has been much more damage and power outage elsewhere, as this was a monster hurricane. We were very fortunate, somehow we have power. I think because the lift pumps for the sewer system are at the end of the street and those make this area a first priority.

Gosh. I am tired. We can rest & recup. Mom was a trooper. She did not want to leave her home if she did not have to, but when she realized she did, she went right along, no fuss and also very helpful. To be back home is amazing. I feel nothing but gratitude for my friends. Thanks & Love, Lenna 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.