Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Do Stones Feel

Mary Oliver is probably my favorite modern poet.  She writes about nature and life.   This is one of my favorite poems.

Do Stones feel?
Do they love their life?
Or does their patience drown out everything else?
When I walk on the beach I gather a few, 
white ones, dark ones, the multiple colors.
Don't worry, I say, I'll bring you back, and I do.


Is the tree as it rises delighted with its many branches,
each one like a poem?


Are the clouds glad to unburden their bundles of rain?


Most of the world says no, no, it's not possible.


I refuse to think to such a conclusion.
Too terrible it would be, to be wrong.

As a nature lover, I like to think the stones, the trees and the grass have feelings.  Who knows!

Thankful that Irma at come and gone.   We lost power here for about 5 hours today because of the wind.  Now the storm has travel up into North Carolina to where my son lives.  Hoping Irma will just get herself gone.

Happy that all the folks I know and know of in Florida are well and safe. I am sure the power companies will be working for weeks to get power back to those areas hardest hit.   Keep the people of Florida and those still struggling in Texas in your thoughts.     

We have a mess to clean up in the yard..the oak trees were throwing down some limbs with acorns as they knew how much I love to rake acorns!  And probably the hickory huts are going to be the same!   But its all good.

I will try to catch up with journals tomorrow.   Thanks for all the comments on my collage of the old house yesterday.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.