Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Through the window

I did not get to upload my photos yesterday as the power was out so I decided to use this one today.   It is the nandina bush outside the window when it was pouring Irma rain.   The leaves are beginning to turn red but because of the lighting and the screen on the window it made the photo appear almost like it had an overlay applied.   It did not.    

I came across this blog yesterday for the short time we had power and thought this person really spoke truth about how to honor those that lost their lives in the attacks on 9/11.  This is the blog   The Moment but these words are what really resonated with me.   

"Yes. I thought about it this morning, the same way I often think about those clear, hard-edged moments of my life. The moments that show me how easy it is to feel wounded and how tough I can be despite that. I thought about it and proceeded with my day in the only way I know how give credence to those unthinkable times and to honor those people who have suffered agony that I can't completely understand - the people I've loved and the people I'll never know who have been taken in death.

I thought about it. I thought about it and then and set about living deliberately. Bringing honor isn't so much in a totem or a memorial or a moment of silence. Honor is in living anyway. Honor is in living well and fully."



Live deliberately.   Live your best life.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.