Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Got It: Say's Phoebe

 I have spent hours in books, apps and search engines.  I had all sorts of plans for the day and whoosh!  I can guess but I don't know what this is. I have put a more closely cropped (though less focused) photo of this little devil in the extras.  Took it out to save an extra for the future.  :-)

SO HELP!!! 
First person to grant me my wish wins a prize.  :-)
Edit: Debbi nailed the ID.  It's a member of the flycatcher family: 
It's a Say's Phoebe!    (Prize to be awarded soon.)

My best guess was an "Arizona" Bell's vireo (or some sort of other vireo) but a few things confounded me:
1. Most vireos have a complete or partial eye ring.  There might be a very thin one that's not very visible. (Side view in the extra)
2. The beak appears black but could it be more silver?
3. I couldn't match the wing bars with it's other features (mostly grey, white bib)

I didn't want to use a blip for another Pipevine Swallowtail butterfly, so I put that in the extras, too.  Hope you like it.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.