My English Concertina (Cultural Blip Challenge)

This is my prize possession, my English Concertina. There are various types of concertina explained in this article that are played in different ways. The English version was invented by Sir Charles Wheatstone in 1829 and was originally used for playing classical music  (it's fully chromatic). It then became popular for music hall acts, concertina bands and for the Salvation Army. It is now used mostly for folk music.

Mine was made in the Wheatstone factory and each one has a number on the side which enables the date of manufacture to be found - mine was made in 1917. It's a wonder that they were making musical instruments in WW1! If anyone is interested in it's inner workings, there's a photo of F mending it here

I've had it for 27 years and I love it dearly. I taught myself to play when I was a morris dancer and it still has the wrist straps that helped when I was walking and playing in parades. My thumb goes through the small strap and there is a metal rest for my little finger, I play the notes with the remaining three fingers. 

I play it in music sessions in pubs alongside other musicians and play it along with piano in two ceilidh bands (mostly piano in the bands though). Playing music has brought me great pleasure and friends over the years and I can thoroughly recommend it as a hobby. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.