Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

After Aileen

I was up early and out in time for sunrise.  The winds had died down a bit, but there was plenty of evidence that it had been strong overnight.  It's often noticeable that sky conditions are interesting after poor weather and this morning was certainly an example.

I popped to the Fishley Rover Bridge and was chuffed that despite the wind we had reflections off the water.  I took many photographs but enjoyed seeing this image of the sun just rising above the horizon.

Technical:  Taken with the 7-14mm Olympus Lens so no opportunity to filter (saying that there is a fascinating article by Chris Eyre-Walker on the options for filtration with this lens).  An HDR image. 3 shots at -1 EV; + 1 EV and +3 EV.  I processed this using Aurora 2017, a package from Macphun Software.  I've had the software for sometime but not used it much.  To be honest I tried it because they contacted me yesterday to announce a new version.  Unfortunately, this is not free for existing users, and they want more than 50% of the new cost for the upgrade.  


I always try not to allow the garish excesses of HDR imagery to show up in the final picture.  It is difficult. By their very nature they defy normal exposure constraints so it is always something of a compromise.  On the plus side of the current software there was a comprehensive array of adjustments available.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.