Plus ça change...

By SooB

Short

This photo was crisp as day on my phone.  Sheesh.

Anyway, the shortbread is yummy.  A few days ago I acquired a new biscuit tin and told the kids that 'bought biscuits' were now a thing of the past (for so many reasons).  So I finally took heed of their poor starving sad faces and made some biscuits today.  Shortbread and oat cookies (turns out I had forgotten eggs at the shop, so had to do the only two non-egg recipes I had to hand.  In my defence, we buy eggs at the market normally, not the shops, and I missed the market on Saturday.)  CarbBoy was a bit disgruntled by the lack of chocolate, but the cake I made earlier in the week (to use up the last of the not-quite-out-of-date eggs) mollified him.

TallGirl had a late start at school, so was still in bed for today's yoga practice.  Killer.  Watch out for day 6 girls.  Though, I have to say, there is some relief when - after about two hours - the crippling nausea wears off and you are left only with the pain, the weaknesses and the memories of what you underwent.  I may not move much tomorrow.  Already (evening) sitting up straight is a trial.

After that, a calm morning, spending a plant voucher, dodging the showers (who am kidding - tolerating the torrential downpour more like) then planting stuff and making a compost mix for TallGirl's cactus (it took a tumble out of her window and she is steadfastly failing to get around to repotting it.)

Later, some work and then Mr B called with a family legal crisis that - to my irritation - I am unable to solve.  More on that to do tomorrow but I did at least get to have a long chat with our fab lawyer in Edinburgh.  

With all that going on, and TallGirl's labcoat to sew (she keeps taking it away for chemistry lessons or some such nonsense whenever I have time to do it), I didn't pick the best evening for a roast dinner.  So that was a bit of an odd meal in the end: roast chicken, rice, some fried potatoes and broccoli (with tasty marsala gravy).  Still the kids ate it all - I guess that's the benefit of serving dinner really late and having no 'decent' biscuits in the house!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.