Working

Steve's still poorly. He spent the morning in bed, mostly, surfacing only to stop Charley falling down the steps on the landing and consoling Ben ("I want mama, I want a shower, I want a bath NOW") while I grabbed a shower.

So we were breakfasted and out before he was up. He went out to London today for what we hope will be a good business meeting with hopefully a couple of jobs in his hand.

We were out to see Kath - in theory to pick brambles but really that's just an excuse to go round! Ben was terrified of her dog Pip. Really scared. Wouldn't even look at her. But there was zoo duplo to play with so that was ok! Charley must have heard me say "toast" as he woke up when I asked if I could have some, so he came and destroyed the zoo train tracks with Ben. They had fun. Then we got a bonus - we tagged along when Pip begged for a walk! By the end of the walk Ben was even laughing and not jumping out of his skin every time Pip thundered past him with sheer excuberance so I'd say that was an improvement! May have to make this a more regular thing, it was so lovely and calm out with Kath.

Both boys fell asleep in the car on the way home. One minute Ben was singing, the next he was asleep. Charley at least went quiet before he simply switched off too! Did leave me in a predicament though: which child to remove from the car first?! Eventually I unloaded the Stuff, then the Charley (seat and all), then the Ben who woke and wanted cuddles. But then because they'd had funny sleep times they were cranky all evening and I only just managed to find calm before dinner. Steve popped home briefly to get changed before going to smallgroup, but the boys were only too ready to go to bed.

Amazingly, after a bit of false hope - the first time I crept out of bed and had maybe three minutes before Charley woke, not even long enough to get some decaf going in the pot - the boys settled properly and I had some quality painting time! Lots done :) Nice to spend a bit of time with Steve as well, even if he did get home and start working inmediately!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.