An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Best Buddies...

Another busy day hurtles to a close.

I had planned to get up at 6.30am this morning to get a head start on all that had to be done today.  Alas, when the alarm went off I was heard to mutter something unrepeatable under my breath as I re-set it for 8am.  Even then it was a struggle to get up. 

When I got downstairs David had been up with Lola for ages, had fed her and fun had been had in the garden.  She came to me for cuddles whilst David sneaked upstairs to get showered and changed.

Alan's pal Andrew arrived and met Lola for the first time.  They got on very well together - see extra  (she really is a sociable little puppy) Alan was delighted to see his pal and plans were quickly being made for their next get together (their annual trip to the Enchanted Forest in October.) 

Andrew kept is all on our toes throughout the afternoon, as did Lola.  She knows her name really well now, which helps.  She's also been really loving the past couple of days, actively looking for cuddles and tummy rubs and being so funny in her antics.  It's been lovely to see.

I excused myself for a couple of hours and sneaked off to the living room to do some ironing.  It felt funny to be in there as we now spend all our time in the garden room.  Today it was a little oasis of calm away from the mayhem of Lola, Andrew and Alan and I got a load of ironing done.

Andrew's dad picked him up at 9.30 and I've just finished a welcome cup of coffee.  Need to finish off my online Tesco shop that's being delivered tomorrow morning.  Ele and Kenny coming up and as it's Kenny's birthday on Sunday I want to make more of an effort over dinner.  Thinking beef fillet rolled in Dijon mustard and parma ham, dauphinoise potatoes, carrots and green beans.  There's an autumnal scent in the air so might make apple and blackberry crumble for dessert.

Funniest moment of the day - Lola likes to chew the bottom of our sofa and we are constantly distracting her away from it.  I think David's patience was wearing thin earlier, as in his soft, singsong Lola voice (as I call it) I heard him say, "Lola darling, here's monkey.  Now be an good girl and stop chewing the f*cking sofa!"   :-))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.