An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Welcome to the World Little Esme...

Backblipped 16.09.18


I woke up to the wonderful news that our little Great niece had arrived into the world at 4.39am weighing 6lb 3oz, mum and baby doing well.  The news was accompanied by these photos.   I burst into happy tears!  I am a Great Aunty - Graunty Di  :-))   

Nikki and I had a conversation via Messenger (the wonders of social media!) she managed the whole labour and birth without pain relief.  I am in awe!  And completely in love with this precious little bundle.  I am just so frustrated that I won't be able to cuddle her till this cold has gone!  What rubbish timing!

Once I had calmed down a little from this amazing news, I realised my cold was worse.  D and I were supposed to be going to a concert tonight that I have been looking forward to for months but I realised with a sinking heart that the chances of me getting there were pretty slim.  I got up to have my shower but felt so miserable and just could not get a heat in me, so I had a lemsip instead, buried myself back under the duvet and fell sound asleep.

I was abruptly woken by David at ten to three, who burst into the bedroom to tell me that he'd had a phone call from Alan's support worker Lisa to say she was at Stirling services and there was blood pouring from Alan's nose and mouth and she couldn't get it to stop!   She'd run into the service station shop, grabbed a packet of wipes and called over that she'd come back and pay for them in a minute!  A woman who'd been in the queue ran out to help.  Turns out she was an ex-nurse on holiday from Australia.  After a few minutes and no sign of the bleeding stopping, the woman said she thought Lisa should phone an ambulance.  That's when she phoned us.

David told her to call an ambulance and he jumped in the car and headed down to Stirling to meet them.  I sat in a daze for a minute, my head full of cotton wool, then had the fastest shower ever!  I was just getting out of the shower when David phoned to say the paramedics had arrived, the bleeding had stopped, they'd checked him over and all seemed ok!  I could even hear Alan laughing in the background!  Such a relief!!

They arrived home about 20 minutes later.  Alan looked as if he'd been in a massacre!  Poor lad had been on his way to his pal Lucy's 21st birthday party in Cumbernauld so was all dressed up.  His favourite shirt was covered in blood.  But it was clear he thought the whole situation was hilarious! 

It was just a nose bleed, which he's prone to when he has a cold, but of course if his nose starts bleeding, he isn't able to hold a hanky to it or pinch his nose, he just wipes the blood with his hand and of course it ends up all over his face and looks like a massacre.  No wonder poor Lisa got such a fright! 

All that drama coupled with my cold meant there was no way we could go to the concert.  Dinner and an early night and trying not to cough!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.