Not Banksy

Having enjoyed something of a feeding frenzy last night with David and Luca, the thought of the Temple of Toast lost something of its early morning Sunday appeal, delaying our start today. At least it did the more so for His Lordship who had quaffed more than me. And so I took to walking the marches alone and early enough for a certain amount of vigilance, it being quiet enough to be a muggers' paradise. The rest of the world appeared to be having a lie in too.

I took this urban art/ graffiti in a lane running parallel to the path I was on but decided not to venture along it so early .You can tell that I am not a fearless adventurer likely to explore the world on my own during the hours at first light especially when my brain is filled with 'what ifs'. I have been gifted with genes allowing these thoughts to flourish, a condition I consider a huge handicap. Having said that, exploring every nook and cranny in Stromness alone at 6:30 in the early morning never presented any 'what ifs'.

Having stood on so many podiums with athletes this summer, I have just one to go and that is to cycle virtually into the Champs Elysées with Mark Beaumont tomorrow as he finishes his epic cycle round the world in 80 days.
The total mileage is 18,000 miles, cycling 240 miles in 16 hours every day. I have on only 2 occasions cycled 100+ miles in a day and know what that felt like, but to do 2.5x that every day for 80 consecutive days is totally mind blowing.

The link to his progress is<artemisworldcycle.com>
His position at midday today is shown in my extra

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.