Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Work in Progress - Shepherd's Hut

Ever since I was a child I have been fascinated by small things, and today one of my favourite genres in photography is macro and close-up work.

When I'm not out enjoying the fresh air with the camera or singing in a choir, I enjoy scale modelling, in particular building, decorating and furnishing doll's houses.  I have 10 models (I think!) in various states of completeness ranging from 1:12th scale (1inch = 1 foot) down to a "doll's house doll's house" 1:144 scale (1inch = 12 feet). 

This one is a 1:48th scale (1/4 inch = 1 foot) of a Shepherd's Hut which I am building from a kit - as you can see, the landscape still needs working on, as does the interior of the hut.

My doll's houses have provided a good source of Blips (both considered and as emergency blips) along the way.  Some of my personal favorites are a 1/48th scale scratch built model of Exeter's "House that Moved"; a lovely little  1/144th kit of a country cottage and a visit to the kitchen in the model the 1/12th scale model house incoprorating the model shop which started the collection off.

My entry to the Blip Community "What's your hobby"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.