Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Fond Memories

This little jug belonged to my paternal grandfather, who at around 4ft 11ins tall was affectionately known as "Little Grandad",   as opposed to Mum's more normal height step-father who we call "Big Grandad".


Looking at it brings back memories of times over summer holidays spent with him.  A week's visit included such delights as condensed milk ("white jam") sandwiches,  bingo and beetle drives with the OAP club, coach trips to Folkstone (again with the OAP's - as usually the only child on the trips I was well spoilt!), and cooked breakfasts with field mushrooms picked that same morning. 

He was a carpenter by trade, and his biggest legacy for me is probably the workshop skills he taught me.  The last project I did with him (at around 10 or 11years old) was to build a traditional bird table with nesting box in its roof.  This stood in his garden for many years.  These skills, together with those learnt from Dad, have stood me in good stead throughout my adult life and contribute greatly to the enjoyment of one of my other hobbies, scale modelling, as well as being put to good use in maintaining my house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.