Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Tormented

Meet Poppy.  She is 10 weeks old today and is a shark posing as a Jack Russell Terrier.  She isn't mine.  I'm puppy training her for a Special Needs client. The cute little pup has the nature of a monster in the making and needs a much firmer hand than her owner's for the next few weeks.  

Poppy's appetite for Cocker Spaniel legs is insatiable and preferably Cocoa's as he hasn't the gumption to tell her off.  Maera is more tolerant of the pup than I could have hoped for, but put's the pup in her place more often than not. Cocoa is such a good dog and is very patient. He plays with her a great deal, and spends a great deal of time out of reach, on top of the back of the sofa.

Why a puppy should need to empty her bowels at 3am I don't know, but that's been the first call in the night since day one.  You can't ignore it. For a little shrimp, that only weighed 750gms on arrival, her voice is more appropriate for a fully grown Rotwieller! 

The second awakening is around 5am and that is the start of a fully active day. She's come along in leaps and bounds during the past fortnight but the nightly routine is seemingly impossible to break.  Fine when I'm here, as ultimately I will always be responsible for the dog and I still am not totally sure that the owner will cope alone. but when I'm on nights it's my poor lodger that is losing precious sleep until I re-enter just after 5am.  It's believed to be a scam to get him out!

'The best description of Poppy is, mini in size, giant in character!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.