Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

A First Kiss

This is the first time that Poppy has been brave enough to go close to the sheep.  There's little to fear as my ewes have learnt to trust dogs that frequent my garden but I'm happy that Poppy's in awe. The last thing I want is a pup that thinks she can play with sheep.  

Helga, always curious, was happy to leave her nuts to welcome the pup.
There were no lambs this year and a couple of incidents have depleted the flock to three. I will be getting more in, hopefully already pregnant, later in the year.  

I love my Herdwick but, age and fatigue, I struggle to handle them alone. Poppy's breeder shows his stock up and down the country and has introduced me to Ouessant Sheep which are a tiny breed. I'm somewhat smitten and may have to add a few. They are hardly larger than my Cocker Spaniels when fully grown.  Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.