Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Garden

This year I've only watered once, I have the best cabbages I've ever grown, few slugs or snails but no time to get into it. Sods law. 

There have been occasions when the grass has been too long to cut with the mower,  Of course the wind and rain took all the holyhocks and delphiniums out before time and the cardoons were a disaster. I love my garden and hate to see it's sorry state.  I'd sown tomatoes and planted only a few, the sunflower seeds germinated well but the strong little plants never made it, as did other flowers, further than the pots in which they were born.  

I purchased a new polytunnel that is still in it's box as I was determined to get back on track, then the work poured in. At one point I was contracted to do 38 hours a week through social services and still doing permanent nights. That requires to live on less sleep than even my normally tolerant body needs and what is more if I can't give 100% I prefer not to do it at all.  I'm back as I eventually had to say 'I can't' to one client and one is in now in college which will make my hours more stable.  

I'm not taking on any more!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.