Ruinous Pile

I have been eyeing up another ruin in Spain for several visits now. Yesterday, we diverted down a 'camino' road, which is one of these narrow tracks  we thought were for access to the fields.  And yes, they do indeed give vehicle access, but they also lead to somewhere.  I noted that this one looked as if it gave easy access to the rear of the ruin. Today, I retraced the route and was able to leave the car safely with plenty of space, before ploughing my way through the undergrowth to the ruin - it was like coming across the Secret Garden.

The land around it looks as if it has been designed as a nature reserve, except the tracks often didn't lead anywhere and everything was completely overgrown; there was also a deserted children's playground (see-saw as extra).  I spent a very pleasant hour or so finding my way around this site - care was necessary with all the rubble, foliage and glass.  
I startled a few rabbits, who are clearly not used to visitors, before heading back to our villa.  I wonder what the story of this house is as it didn't look particularly old.  You'll be pleased to hear that I didn't attempt to go up to the first floor - the stairs didn't look too bad but there were quite a few holes in the ceiling/floor and I might have damaged the camera if I'd fallen through - oh, and me too probably!

Another hottish day today with one more day of guaranteed sun before our flight hime tomorrow evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.