The Hourglass

A most lovely day round so many old haunts, though the first call was in to see my Mum’s old cousin Audrey Crosbie - and I must say going into a care home again was something that just reinforced that I really never want to do that again. Where do I sign? Keeping old wasted bodies going while the mind disappears into decrepitude. Spare me. So there was a great joy to visit Anwoth old churchyard to visit my old healthily deceased forebears.
Then on to Kirkcudbright where it was gloriously sunny - we went to Broughton House, house of EA Hornel - one of the Glasgow Boys (though he went into all that horrible Japanese stuff) and I’ve got to say - I must be getting old. The garden! Delightful. One of the hidden treasures of the world, surely. Where’s your Angkor Wat noo?
Oh, and there was lots more - the Cally Palace, Gatehouse Station and old Lucky Harg’s Cottage. Here’s a question though - what the difference between a luxury boutique hotel and a B&B? If you mention price, you’re getting close….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.