Galloway

The birthday morning - so I tip toed downstairs to get the Happy Birthday banner up - supplied by the daughter who has been staying over this past week. And what a wonderful haul - I would have loved some of those; maybe not unconnected with the fact that I bought them of course.
So it was time to shoot the craw. Off down a favourite road from my childhood - out though West Linton, Broughton and up the Tweed, wetter and wetter, greyer and greyer. Until we reached Moffat where we were greeted by the sis in her new gaff - quite a wrench to move from Glasgow. She's happy as Larry.
On to Gatehouse, my mum's old town, and we decanted the bags laden with m&s treats into our room in the Ship Inn. Over to the Selkirk Arms in Kirkcudbright for an eat, the rain barely letting up. And then back. Not a car on the roads. All the hotels are full - the EUROPEAN DARK SKY PLACES CONFERENCE is in full swing. Honestly, a total, and not altogether welcome coincidence. I can report the skies are indeed dark. Night and day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.