13 Steps to Chevin

He's alive! 

And to think I nearly didn't stop.

I clocked he had a meeting with Jim at 11am at Chevin Lodge and was about to be late.  But then I wasn't quite sure what to do with him. I'm not one to cycle one handed (unless I'm dancing, and I've stopped doing that). Stuffing him down my back was bound to lead to it giving birth so I unzipped both my shirts (to be on the safe side) and tucked him down my front.

Yep, a little sweaty by the time we reached the doorstop but still very much alive.  I got on the phone to Chevin Lodge and sure enough after holding up an event where everyone meeting Jim had to check to see if they'd lost their iPad, Jamie came to the phone.

With serendipity at play, he was meeting his uncle in Burley this afternoon so he dropped in to pick it up on the way.  I figured he must have been a cyclist, but no.  His wife had dropped him off.  He'd left it on the roof, semi-magnetised. And, on accelerating around the corner onto the main road, Little iPad could cling on no longer.

And that's where I came in.  I cycled past, assuming it was broken, but something made me stop on the main road and walk back to it.

I haven't cycled out to Almscliff for a long time.  I was hoping for the mist that was swirling the other morning but I wasn't disappointed with the extra warmth from the sunshine.

I've always loved this little corner and it stopped me in my tracks today with the sunshine bouncing off the rickety steps, thick moss and yellow flowers.  

With my long fingered gloves on, and device in battery save mode, I couldn't check my Garmin for my speed which was just perfect for an ambling ride that's still supposed to be sensible.  Sensible I was.  In fact, Dora the Explorer was back!  I haven't headed down an unknown road for a long time and throughly enjoyed a little detour in Weeton that turned out to be a loop. Bonus!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.