Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Well hello there!

Meet my first Magnolia Warbler, a new life bird for me. This tiny bit of brightness showed up in the company of a black throated blue warbler this afternoon. I was able to get off 8 very fast shots before he/she flew off into the trees. Took me a bit of searching to id it - all of the warblers are either young or in their non-breeding plumage at this time of year, so the guide books aren't so much help. So I am 99% confident with the id.

I didn't see Junior Cardinal today, but Big Sister showed up and said to thank you all so very much for the hearts, stars and comments yesterday - she enjoyed her first trip to the Spotlight. A note about yesterday's blip - it seems that sibling feeding is very unusual for cardinals, so that fact that I was able to observe this was very special indeed. It is much more common to see either the mother or father feeding the fledglings.

I've baked bread today - olive/rosemary/olive oil - and have a nice chicken cacciatore in the slow cooker. Having our neighbor's from across the lane over so there will be some wine and quite a few laughs. Nice way to spend a Saturday evening.

I also found a small brown spider today who was preparing his meal in a to-go bag. I had to get pretty close for this, so the bit of blur is reflective of my shaking in fear. haha!

Big thanks to BikerBear for dedicating her Hedgehog blip to me! What she kindly refrains from saying is that I've been relentlessly whining at her to blip a hedgehog for days... Thanks, Anni!

Hope you are all having a great weekend and enjoying spring or fall, depending on where in the world you are...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.