Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...A bit of iPhone-ery

So, who hikes for a couple of miles, lugging 5 pounds of camera/lens and then uses her iPhone to take pictures??? Yes, that would be me. You know how this goes - no matter what lens you have on your camera, it ends up being the wrong one for whatever you see. So, I was all set for birds, toting Big Daddy and what do I get? Tons of interesting insects! I like to walk through this one field (the park service mows a path through it so you aren't up to your tummy in plants and ticks) because there are always things to see. Today, as I walked through the fields of blooming goldenrod, I realized that they were covered with all manner of fascinating insects. Not at all the thing for BD, unfortunately! So, I used the camera on my iPhone 4s, which is pretty impressive. My biggest challenge is to hold it still enough to not get shake. And it is actually pretty nice bigger!

Anyway, this is some sort of wasp (duh, I'm sure you would NEVER have figured that out, right???). Whatever kind of wasp it is, it is obviously has a big pollen habit. I must have seen 100 of these big guys all over the goldenrod. They weren't the lest aggressive, so I was able to get my phone about 2 inches away for most of the shots. Same with the big, lazy bumble bees and the hoverflies. What fun!

It started to pour, so I headed home and parked myself under the gazebo to see what would show up in the back yard. A new chippie, who I've named Scar (short for Scar-butt) was taking seeds out of the planters on the deck. This is the same chippie who leapt out of the planter the other day, taking a 10 foot header to the patio. When I got a good look at him yesterday, I realized that he has a bite-shaved scar on his lower back; hence the name. It appears to be an old wound, well healed, but probably explains his skittishness. No hand feeding this one. Which leaves more for MitsyBoo and Mimsy (both of whom stopped in for some treats).

Watched a talkative nuthatch put on a most impressive aggression display before daintily taking his seed. A good day...

Dinner last night was good, although I think I should have seasoned the cacciatore more - it needed something. Will be having leftovers tonight, so I'll add a bit of this and that. And some nice cabernet savignon to wash it all down...

I look forward to catching up with journals tonight - I'm a bit behind. Thank you all for the lovely comments on my magnolia warbler yesterday - got confirmation that it was a young female!

Oh, and for you bear lovers, I saw a sow and three smallish cubs when I drove onto the park road today - they ran in front of the car, too fast for me to grab the camera. Cubs looked like first-years, but very plump and ready for fall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.