horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Homeward

Lovely last day in Iowa. The first half in the office was punctuated by a brilliant coffee break visiting the HR department. We recently went head to head in a video competition in the company (which I won), but there was some gentle ribbing back and forth about it. 

Turns out they'd laid a spread on for us, and I've something of an Iowan fanbase (for the cartoons as well, after finding a number of them printed out and pinned up in cubicles).

It's been a really interesting trip, which we've got a lot out of. I wish I'd managed to create some more time to get out and about, but managed pretty much all I could (especially as it's dark at 7). Given the wildlife, and speaking to one of the really nice senior guys over there who actually shares the passion, something I didn't know, and who knows where to find Bald Eagles... the next time I go for a visit I'll be packing the big lens.

I've tried to cram in as many different stereotypical American foods as possible, trying the likes of Root Beer (yeuch!) and Tater Tots and so on. The one thing I didn't find were corndogs. Not exactly the culinary high point, but something that intrigues me. Seems they're more of an event type thing (like the State Fair, where you can get pretty much everything deep fried and on a stick).

I've also come back with an adopted college football team - the Iowa Hawkeyes, a t-shirt and keyring from the airport sealing the deal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.