The Wren

By TheWren

Rocking baby

Today was mostly about getting ready for our big road trip tomorrow as we will be setting off at 6am - that is the plan anyway.

We took Kymba to the dog park today for some exercise and she wore her special hot weather jacket. This is a great invention as you wet the coat first and then put it on the dog where it acts like a wick, taking away the heat from the body and leaving it cool. It has been a godsend to Kymba out here and has made all the difference to her walks.

Then this evening S still had some studying to do before we set off, so A and I went to Bite Vegas, an annual live rock concert where numerous catering establishments also set up stalls to ply their wares and the rule is that no item on their menu should exceed $5. It was very warm, in the high 90's when we arrived at 4:30pm but thankfully it cooled down as the sun set and it turned into a very balmy evening. The concert was good fun, everyone was impeccably behaved simply enjoying themselves and no-one was drunk. Many folk had take things to sit on and I was mesmerised to see so many colourful quilts on the ground being used as picnic rugs! There were many families at the event and while I was possibly the oldest (!) this wee chap was surely the youngest. I just loved the earphones to protect his ears from the loud bands, his tiny hand clasping his Dad's as he took his feed.

It is an exciting day tomorrow as we head off to the west coast. We are to be away for 10 days and I am promised some wonderful scenery en route, finishing with a couple of days at Yosemite before we head home. I have no idea what wi-Fi I will find as we travel but hope to post some of my blips whenever possible. Commenting might, however, be sparse so I hope you will forgive me but please still come along on the journey with me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.