Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Going Nuts For Nuts

This Gila (hee'-la) woodpecker poked his head over from the back of the wall. I saw him only from above his bill.  He suddenly popped up top, looked around, snagged this peanut and hightailed it out of there. From beginning to end, the episode lasted less than ten seconds.

For the first time since early May, I was able to sleep with all of my windows and doors open.  I started to get ready for bed at 8:30 (I was really, really tired). At that time, it was 74°/23° outside, two degrees lower  than it was in the house. I woke up to a household chill of 64°/18°.  You have no idea how absolutely wonderful that felt.  I sleep exponentially better in the cool, fresh air. It looks like it be might possible to do for the next couple of months. YIPPEE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.