They're Here

So I got this green bird feeder when I was at the "lake house" and filled it with black sunflower seeds. And waited. And nobody came. Once in awhile a chickadee would swoop in for a grab but it was rare. My theory was that the big birds who came regularly for the peanuts made the little birds nervous.

Fast forward to my move and my decision to stop feeding peanuts (due to the tendency of raccoons and rats coming to sample the goodies) and just put up hummingbird feeders, this green feeder (hoping the little birds would come) and one suet feeder.

Well it wasn't a long wait. The hummers came even before I put up the feeders. That's because I brought along my potted plants from my deck that hummingbirds like. Almost immediately they were there enjoying the flowers. And when I put up their feeders, they moved right to them.

It took me a bit longer to put up the green feeder. When I did, within a day or two, the chickadees came. Now they dart across the garden to the feeder. This is a chestnut backed chickadee. I find them so pretty. I expect more little birds will come as it gets colder and there are less natural sources of food.

Oh and one squirrel has come too. It's a black one and so far it hasn't tried to get in this feeder. It is just mopping up any seeds that fall beneath the feeder. The black ones are a variant of the Eastern grays, not native, but cute anyhow.

Today I blew off a concert and spent the entire day working on photos at my computer. I feel happily industriously lazy and that feels good to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.