Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Poser

The moment I spotted this bird, I said to no one, "Wholly crap, you're huge!"  I thought perhaps that a female Magnificent had gotten terribly lost and found my tiny yard.  No such luck.

This is actually a female Black-chinned hummingbird (which is still cool).  They aren't necessarily very large but when you see them straight up with their wings splayed (top left) they do look enormous.  usually when you see a collage, it's because it's so difficult to select just one shot as your blip, which is the case today.  So you get all of the best of the lot.  :-)

Another cool, refreshing night. I'm gonna get so spoiled. Beth (my housekeeper) isn't going to like the windows having been open, though.  Remember, the desert is right across the street and it is a prolific sharer of dust.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.