Big trucks

(I could not get wifi to work last night; at least with Blipfoto. I think perhaps there were too many guests at the hotel all using band width at the same time. Anyway, this morning I have been able to post my blip.)

First day of the conference was dominated (for me) by the inspiring presentation by Professor Sir Mason Durie. The title of his talk was The Turamarama Declaration; Indigenous Suicide Prevention. He pointed out that psychiatrists alone are unable to prevent suicide, not only because over 50% have not ever seen anyone for reasons of mental illness, but also because mental illness is only one of the factors which lead to suicide. Social change is necessary; we can advocate, but society must act. This requires intersectoral collaboration. 

He described the hui (meeting) held in Rotorua (NZ) last year to discuss indigenous suicide. Attendees came from many countries. The Declaration issued by the participants at the end of the conference was heartening in its common sense, feasibility and likeliness of effectiveness.

I enjoyed and learned from most of the day. In particular, it has been good to meet up with so many colleagues, and discuss so many things.

Last evening, my brother and his partner joined S and me for dinner. As we went into the restaurant, I saw the nearby bridge, and recorded it as my blip for the day. Later S used my camera to get a photo of my brother and me; a little different to how we looked in 1953.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.