Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Elfins Saddle

I had a lovely walk with a friend, Christine and her dogs this afternoon. Not only is she very good company but far more knowledgeable of the area and has shown me a number of local routes that I wasn't aware of. 

Today, short of time, we followed a favourite circular path that we both know well where there are some beautiful views, but I'd taken a long lens to capture her dogs at play.  It could have been tempting to blip Cockerpoo canines for a change, but I stumbled on this by a path and happily changed my idea. 

Helvella crispa, commonly known as Elfins Saddles, Common Helvel or White Saddle are quite common, growing mostly on the sides of paths under deciduous trees in mixed woodland. Often growing amongst fallen leaves you can walk over them easily if you don't keep your eyes peeled. 

They're edible but not much to write home about. This was picked for the photo but will go back to spore, and hopefully multiply where I found it, in the morning.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.