Through the haar

A busy day yesterday so abit of a late blip.
Mike dropped me at Ferry Point in Dingwall. Such a beautiful Autumn morning. So peaceful.The haar was hanging over the Cromarty Firth with the sun breaking through now and again. Leaves with changing colours of yellow, orange and red. Cobwebs wrapped around the gorse, red rose hips were covered in droplets.Goldfinches sat on the weeds while robins chased each other. The sound of geese arriving filled the air. I sat and watched and walked and watched.
Several dog walkers arrived and had a chat.One man had lived in Dingwall all his life and told me that he and his friends used to wade out through the mud to go finishing in the channel that remains when the tide is out. Mud up to his knees, he would get into a row with his Mum when he got home. Another dog walker with a huge, young Alsatian stopped to ask what I had seen. When I told him I was watching the goldfinches, he was pleased I could tell him what they were as he did nt know and had seen them yesterday.
The bridge that I used to walk over has now been shut off as it's not safe.
The rest of the day was spent getting ready for Brownies. What a great night for a bat watch we could nt have asked for better conditions.Two members of the Inverness Bat group joined us and they were super, lots of information and engaged all the girls.
Did we see bats ? Yes, lots and the girls could spot them and hear them on the bat detectors :) One the way to the carpark we also heard an owl calling.
It was one of the Brownies last sessions and just as we entered the Fairy Glen her tooth fell out , I think the Tooth Fairy must have been watching :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.