To knit or not to knit

That is the question. With me, it's usually not whether to knit, as I always start, keen to see something miraculous appear between my needles. But how often do I finish? Well, nothing for about 22 years, when I knitted a matinee jacket for my new baby!

Hence the penguins. They are tiny, and cute. Hopefully that equals quick and easy to finish! Today at lunchtime I bought black 4ply from the market, splashed out on the miniature balls of various colours in a proper wool shop, and ended my shopping spree in my fave charity shop (Sue Ryder vintage in Bridewell - I call it my local, but the staff probably whisper to each other when they see me coming ' it's that odd woman again'). They came up trumps with a pair of size 12 needles, although it took me some searching! Sandra kindly gave me enough black and yellow too. The yellow for beaks and feet! I'm excited to get started. If they are a success, you might get one for Christmas...but let's face it, it gives you a break from bead bracelets and snowmen earrings!

Work was long, busy and I'm trying not to let it stress me. Leaving at 4.30 for my first ever 'blip meet' I was feeling quite excited!

At home, my blip friends arrived at 6pm. It was lovely to meet face to face with Bom and GracieG at last. They are both living quite close to me, and our hope was to spot a barn owl at dusk. A nice walk around the village, chatting and find out a bit about one another, did not produce our owl meeting. I suspect they saw us, we just didn't see them! But it was a lovely walk nonetheless and eminently enjoyable meeting new friends. Thank you Bom and GracieG for making contact with me :)

Blip has kept me close to those I had to leave far away, and is now bringing new contact with people close by. What a great family Blipfoto has become!

Now I have some stitches to cast on...I think I'll start with white....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.