October 4th Journal

By IONAX

Grand café

Grandi is isthmus in English and kaffi (coffee) is café - so my very old schoolmates Grandakaffi becomes Grand café in English.
His name is Rúnar (Roonar) and we were classmates at the age from 10 to 12 and after that we didn't see each other for a long time and when we did we kind of nodded to each other until we were in prison at the same time.

The strange looking long house are fishermen's huts and were used as such when I was young. To day they are mostly rented to artist and all kind of people.

I was in prison to visit an old friend who had lived in Scandinavia for many years and was caught smuggling dope - but could serve the sentence here in Iceland. He phoned me from prison and asked if I would com to visit as he had no one to visit him and because of old acquaintance I did so. Rúnar's son was in prison for the same reason - we met there and took up our very old friendship. The prison is by the south coast of Iceland - you can Google "litla hraun prison" to see picture and more about it.
Fooled you a little - didn't I?

The inserted picture is of the a tire garage called Nesdekk. They do more than sell you tires and they do most of the small reparations on my car.
The good thing is that they are just around the corner from Grandakaffi and I usually go to Nesdekk first thing in the morning and then around the corner to have my morning coffee with Rúnar.
I usually stay there until the guys at Nesdekk phone me to tell me the car is ready.
This is the nicest way to have your car repaired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.