Beewriter

By Beewriter

I love Poetry!

Freedom

Free to choose whatever I want
Free to go wherever I want
Free to shop, to play, to sleep
To clean, to garden, 
To laugh, 
To weep....

Free from work
Free from stress
Free to do more
Or just do less.

When days are free 
When time is long
Freedom can go on and on.....


So, today is National Poetry Day and the theme is freedom. I had seen on t'internet that there was a Drop everything and Read event outside Central Library. I was free today so I dropped every plan about cleaning, tidying, washing, shopping...(there never was a plan to do any of that!)...so I nipped on the bus and went into town. There were some school children sitting on the pavement and people had gathered round in a circle to listen to Dominic Berry, a theatrical poet. There were books for people to read and we all dropped everything and sat or stood and read for ten minutes....free from technology, free from work, free from school. Then Dommy B...as he is known when he does work for children....performed another poem. We could all keep the books we had chosen. I loved the whole thing, the idea that we should just take time out to enjoy reading, to leave everything and jump into a book. I'm glad I went.

As for the boiler saga.....Alan was supposed to be here at 9am, he hadn't arrived by eleven so I rang him, he'd forgotten me. He said he would come at four, so I had time to nip to town. He remembered to come then. The boiler is knackered, completely f****d and irreparable. For a great cost it is going to be replaced next Tuesday...I've had to book the day off...sigh



The photo would have been better if I'd stood in front of Dominic, if I'd had space above his head, if I'd included the children who joined in with his poem....but I like the energy he exuded as he jumped in the air.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.