Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Stone face

Today was dark and damp, so rather than an outside blip, when I was in town I took the camera into the cathedral.  It is an astonishing building and always worth another look, patricularly over the last 2 or 3 years, because it's been having an enormous amount of restoration work done.  I understand this project won't finish until the end of next year.

Amongst preparations for this year's Harvest festivities, held in and outside the cathedral this weekend, what struck me again is just how many (mainly medieval) faces watch, turn away, or leer at you as you wander round.  I found this one up near the east end, and I guess I must call the person 'she' with that hair.  Note the strands of cobweb decoration!

In other news, the curse of the Close has struck again.  My washing machine broke last night.  This morning it was mended, so I'm lucky, but the plumber's only just put in his bill from last week and now I have another one!!

Have a fabulous weekend, whatever you're doing  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.