Man in the mirror

I’m starting with the man in the mirror
I’m asking him to change his ways
And no message could have been any clearer
If you wanna make the world a better place

The junior Prescotts are out of the door before I get up. Leila is nowhere to be seen, so I put the kettle on and make a cup of tea. As if by magic, my hostess appears.

I get a lift to the station. Less halting than last night, but beset by early morning commuters. I'm at the station in plenty of time for my train/tram to Doncaster. From their I get an east coast mainline to Edinburgh. It's very busy, but I have a reserved seat with a table - not 1st class this time.

The train is 7 minutes late into Edinburgh, giving me 3 minutes to get to the bus stop at the Scott Monument to catch the 101. It takes longer than that, but as I pant up to the stop, with bulging rucsacs grant and rear, it becomes clear that the 101 is late too.

At West Linton, Jeanette (Bill's new friend) gets on. We both get off at the chapel. Bill is up to first floor level with his new house. He's up on the scaffolding and Pam is looking up from the concrete floor.

Pam leaves. I admire the lightweight, hi-tech beams, but Bill wants to make the most of the fine weather. He drops me in Castlecraig and I wander, unannounced, ungreeted, back into my domain.

The house is empty, as is the fridge. The polytunnel is overgrown, but the chickens are alive and well. All is as expected.

I cook my tea, converse with members of my family via disparate communication technologies, and watch Father Ted until bedtime. Season2. Hell and Plague.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.