Good grief!

Through my heart flows sleep
And the dark, heavy rain
Where the gravedigger's song is sung
You've been torturing me

I wake. Before I know it, I’m exercised, showered, packed and checked out. At breakfast I meet-up with Willem, Joseph, Mark, and Clare. Gary and the Glasgow mafia are at the next table. More old friends surface by the minute.

The keynote is an academic review of psychological safety. This is followed by Steve’s personal tour through the evolution of software development and the Calum’s 10-minute-miracle.

I’m on after lunch, with a repeat of a previous session. There’s not a huge crowd, but there’s good discussion. And I incorporate a photo that Clare took at her aunt’s funeral yesterday.

Michael wraps up with an architectural keynote and it’s time to roll towards the station. Steve shares a taxi and tells me of the slow demise of his Hamcrest library.

The delayed train to Stansted hasn’t quite arrived yet. Gary, Ann, and Valerie left before the keynote but are still waiting on the platform. We travel together, part ways briefly while I scoot through Fasttrack, and the share pork scratchings in an overpriced airport eatery.

They catch the flight to Glasgow. I mooch around waiting for my inevitably delayed flight to Edinburgh.

Uber takes me back to Gowkley Moss. Claire gets home just after me. And another week is done done done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.