But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Coral Fungus.

Sadly, I’m getting further behind posting Blips, I actually photographed this particular fungus two and a half weeks ago with the macro lens when the sun was shining brightly through the trees – but didn’t post it; today’s effort was taken at dusk, with the fish-eye and a bean bag but forgot to turn the stabilisation off. Most of the time it doesn’t matter with this camera, but there is a range of shutter speeds, about 0.1 to 1 second, where it does. This just falls in that range. However, I do like the effect of using this lens so will retake it for my own records.
 
I was at the apiary to feed the bees; the regime of doing so at dusk seems to have stopped the problem with robbing, so it seems to be not worth the risk of reverting to my previous practice. Having lost one colony, I’m back to four, the same as this time last year – with three of them being so strong that I’ve given them each a super (the half size box normally used for honey production) so that there’s plenty of room for both the bees and the extra food that they will need. The fourth colony is strong enough to survive the winter though I may put them in the back garden so that I can keep a close eye on them; it’s also nice to be able to go and watch their comings and goings from day to day, even Herself was sorry that there were none here during the summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.