Capital adventures

By marchmont

Gatwick sunset

I should not have been seeing this - sunset at 6.35 p.m. from Cafe Rouge in the North Terminal. I should have been doing a quick turn around to be out for dinner with Table for Ten. Just as well I didn't buy a skirt!!

It was an early start when I was up at 3 to double check that I don't have my house keys - I don't.

Paid the bar bill, breakfast and then we got to the airport at 9.10 for a 10.50 flight. Take off was delayed by 20 minutes because of air traffic congestion over France. Our last morning was very cloudy with rain threatening - a good time to leave.

We got to Gatwick - gate 112 so a long trudge to the terminal. I checked in my bags with BA and then went South to confirm no keys at the Yotel. Seems much longer than 2 weeks since I was here.

Back North my plans for a leisurely lunch were scuppered by the crush of people. There is a 'Jamie's Kitchen' there now. I ended up with a Costa coffee and sandwich.

I was trying to preserve my phone battery so it was off till I bought some milk and then got the text telling me that BA had cancelled my flight. Oh no! It took over an hour to get out of airside, to be 'de-controlled' ( and I will be complaining about the guy from the Border Agency), get luggage, queue to re-book and then go back through security - my milk was jettisoned. Heathrow wasn't really an option as the M25 was closed so it was the 20.50, already delayed to 21.30. And I had to arrange to get back in the stair. So it was steak frites and tarte citron in Cafe Rouge, watching the sun go down and sewing cats.

The delay was increased to 22.00 and it was after that that we took off. BA had had a bad day - fleet problems and crew shortages.

We got to Edinburgh at 23.25 and then had to wait for what seemed like an age for the bags. I spent nearly 16 hours in an airport or on a plane today - a whole day in Gatwick. Tiring end to a good holiday.

(Sat 29 September 2007 I was delayed on a plane at Dubai for 4 hours. It was late, hot and boring - a bit like today).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.