Plus ça change...

By SooB

Blood and tears

Well this was fun. I've been meaning to try it for ages, but was put off a bit by all the "I took 7,392 shots and only got one good one" reports I read on line. I was lazier and took about 40. Any more and I think my flash would have exploded, or more likely run out of batteries.

Was thinking about one of Anth's rants today. It's the one* where he's talking about those pesky cyclists being given a guide on how to behave so they're not a nuisance to all the lovely 4x4s on the road (I'm paraphrasing just a little but I don't think he'll mind).

Anyway, our kids got a letter home from school today telling us how important road safety is at this time of year and reminding us that our kids should be extra careful while crossing the roads and wear fluorescent jackets. Nothing about maybe driving within the speed limit through the village at school chucking out time. When I was a kid there was a woman in a local village who would run out of her house and shake her fist at cars going by (that village got the first by-pass in the valley). I feel like I've inherited her mantle now and frequently wag my finger at cars going too fast.

Of course this nearly got me into trouble when the car going by too fast was driven by my kids' head teacher (I realised in time and turned the gesture into an odd looking wave).

So here's a plea: 30 is a maximum speed limit. Sometimes less than that is the right speed. (And that goes for those speedy bikes too.)


*The logical link, of course, would have been back to the rant I'm talking about. However, that would have meant clicking back through all the other rants, then I'd get pulled into reading them all and be there all night, instead of here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.