Gulp!

I got on well with my spider hunt for #Arachtober this morning. I captured a sheetweb spider with a red hip and a yellow leaf background. I think I managed to identify it correctly. These spiders are also known as hammock weavers as they construct a sort of hammock with gossamer trip lines/snares above it. They suspend themselves underneath and wait for prey to drop in the hammock.

I went for a walk at Fishers Green after lunch. My pic is of a gulp of cormorants roosting on a transmission tower by Seventy Acres Lake. I got pics of a heron catching fish and a water rail but the light wasn't great.

Today's poem is Her Kind by Anne Sexton. https://www.poets.org/poetsorg/poem/her-kind

AS claimed it was "the bad witch" in her who wrote the poetry. She was severely troubled mentally, abused alcohol and took her own life. She identifies in the poem with witches, housewives and adulteresses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.