Horse/House Mushroom

My friend next door phoned me to tell me that she had some big mushrooms on her front lawn that I might like to photograph. They were humongous, one was thirteen inches in diameter. After I had taken a few snaps I picked them as MrQ said they would make good eating. We decided against it when we found grubs in the stems. I well remember the mushrooms that a commercial grower friend of our parents used to give us being similarly affected. Ugh!

I went spider hunting for #Arachtober early this morning and captured this hornet. It seemed to react to my autofocus. (Extras)

Today's poem is St Francis and the Sow by Galway Kinnell https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems/42683/saint-francis-and-the-sow

I love this. It brought a tear to my eye. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.