Dolly’s Friends

My main task for today was to try and get caught up with paperwork and hopefully to obtain some semblance of order at my desk. I made some good progress but was in desperate need of a break by about 2pm. So I headed out for a walk along some nearby paths I’d not walked along for a long time.

On the way there I drove by a field I pass frequently, but I don’t think I’d ever seen the donkeys there before. I pulled over and said hello. They were very friendly but were probably disappointed I had nothing to feed them.

It was a beautiful afternoon and once I got walking I had a hard time pulling myself away and I ended up walking further than I intended. I decided to visit the field where I’d seen these Shetland ponies before. They were way on the other side of the field but soon made a beeline for me when they saw me. I’m sure they were also hoping for a free handout but sadly I was empty handed.

The ponies are so gentle and friendly. I call them ‘Dolly’s Friends’, as several years ago she and I walked here and they took a lot of interest in her and she in them. In fact, she ran around in circles she was so excited and eventually found a gap in the fence and ran right into them. It frightened me a bit but no harm was done and they seemed to like her as much as she them. I even got it on video and I love to watch it every now and then. She was always very interested in horses but usually I kept her at a very safe distance, and never did she get quite as excited as when she saw this group of tiny ponies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.