Light At The End Of The Tunnel

In the geocache world, it is always very special to be the ‘First To Find’ a newly placed geocache. I’ve even seen some log entries where people have gone out after midnight because they suddenly got an email alert about a new cache right as they were going to bed. Well, I’m not THAT crazy (I don’t think!) but when I woke up and saw an email alert about a new one 5 miles away from me, I thought, why not? It’s a sunny morning, rain is coming later and I very much want to go for a walk today.

So after breakfast, off I went to some lovely countryside on the outskirts of Bracknell. And after a short walk I found it! Very cleverly hidden and I was the very first entry into the logbook. There was also a little prize waiting for me - for being the first!

Now I could have just walked back to the car and I would have had a very pleasant 45 minute walk, but I noticed on my app that there was another one nearby so why not try for another one and turn this into a circular walk, always more interesting? And of course one thing led on to another and before I knew it I’d found 5 caches in one little area and had spent a very pleasant 3 hours exploring a wonderful area for walking that I never knew about! Most of the walk was along tree-lined paths like these. I love the feeling that I’m walking through a tunnel, especially when I saw a halo-like ring of light shining through ahead of me. I must remember to come back in a few weeks when the trees have fully turned to the autumn colours. It will be even more beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.