Up Where The Angels Sing

Up at 3:50am to catch my flight home - it was a very short night! The taxi I had booked was outside and waiting - always a relief! I spoke to the driver in faltering Spanish on the way to the airport, suddenly realising that it was the first time during this stay that I'd strung together more than a couple of words. My half-learned, dormant Spanish is becoming increasingly dormant!

For once I had actually book my seat on the plane rather than being randomly allocated one. This was because I knew I would be in the air when the sun rose and I wanted a chance to photograph it (and also because it only cost me an extra two euros!), so a window seat on the righthand side it was. 

It was beautiful to watch but oh, so difficult to photograph with all the lights inside the plane causing reflections, double panes of glass with streaks and marks on the outside. I draped a jacket over both my head and the camera and pressed right up to the window, in an attempt to block out light from inside the plane and reflections. I'm sure there will have been those who were wondering what on earth I was doing! It was moderately successfully but only moderately..... The shots I liked best were those taken just after the sun had risen - possibly even more difficult to photograph shooting straight into the sun. It was an incredibly beautiful sight to see!

It was also a joy to be greeted by glorious sunshine in England - that was an unexpected bonus! And also a good friend to pick my up and give me a lift home. I was home by 9:15am!

I've got though the rest of the day pretty much in slow motion, although I've had quite a few things that needed immediate attention. Eventually I realised my brain was working too slowly for me to make the headway I wanted to, so I snatched a snooze for a short while. I won't be late to bed tonight though!

Thank you so much for calling in on my journal during my time in Spain and all the lovely comments, stars and hearts you've left!


Have a great weekend!


Ann :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.