Installation At Allied Arts

Phew! It was a very long and busy day today. And a good one.

At 9:30 the "What kind of tree should we get to replace the dying trees that are taking over with long roots?" committee met. It turned out to be a short meeting and our decision was to locate a good arborist to help us decide. We have the list of approved trees by the city and will be checking them out to see which we like before we meet with the arborist.

Then I drove over to my lake house to see how the estate sale was going. I had to park a block away. The place was mobbed. So far in this downsizing process I've been quite mellow and not bothered by choosing what comes along with me and what stays. At the sale though, I had a moment of unease and realized that it felt really strange to see all kinds of people pawing through my stuff in an estate sale kind of way. I felt really uncomfortable for a brief time. Then I got over it and stayed a couple of hours sharing stories about the stuff and even signing a ceramic cat figure I had made. I think I helped sell a couple of the items with my stories. I sat and ate lunch with Fran and the other sellers as more people moved through. I met quite a few friends who had stopped by the sale. By 2:30 I had had enough and took off for home.

I stopped at Haggen's for some food and then continued on home. When I got there I was really drained so I sat on the recliner couch and took an hour's nap. I needed that.

By then it was time to head downtown to Allied Arts for the opening of the current show that features my work, my friend Helen's work and the work of another painter and a jewelry maker. At the show I saw many friends and really enjoyed visiting with them. I stayed until 8:45 and took of for home and some quiet time. 

The only photos I took all day were a few at the Allied Arts show. I put them on Chaikins of Bellingham. The installation was from a museum in Seattle who gave it to Allied Arts to do whatever they wanted to with it. They chose to make it into a community art piece. People wrote messages on the yellow and white pieces of wood. I did one for Arvin and another for myself. It will go to the Opportunity Council for display.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.