rainbowsparklie

By rainbowsparklie

It's a bit chili

I've had quite and exhausting day.
Dentist... bicycle break pad fail... dentist lab... bicycle fixing shop... food growing course... meeting about my NHS services... remembering to post a card...photography course... learning that exposure isn't just about streaking. All neatly joined up with rain... pedalling away... getting soaked... remembering to eat... not quite drying out... eating... bright lights. Seriously I don't know how I ever fitted in a day job to this schedule.

Exhausting as it was I urged myself to keep going for the 'stamina building' process. Anyway that's the preamble.

As a result of all this activity I discovered the following:
1. One will get very chilly when one cycles in the rain, in jeans and no waterproofs

2. Despite the facade of ugly, dull and filthy London buildings there can be beautiful places to chill. Thanks to the guys of the DASL for being so welcoming and showing us their garden

3. The owner of the cafe outside the-place-that-must-not-be-named remembered me after 18months. He scarily commented on my weight loss - yes it's massive, yes I was huge before, yes I was ill -but it still freaks my every time someone comments. More importantly, they still serve up a wicked Chili con carne, brilliant comfort food despite the location

4. Chilies look better when it's -1

Tomorrow forecast looks equally chilly. Maxillofacial appointment (joy!) and therapy (more joy!)

"A safe but sometimes chilly way of recalling the past is to force open a crammed drawer. If you are searching for anything in particular you don't find it, but something falls out at the back that is often more interesting."

James Matthew Barrie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.