Poached eggs

What could possibly go wrong, I think I said.  Well, where to begin?!

I had a wonderful ride this morning over to Embsay and back via the Cow & Calf. In the photo, you can just see the Cow & Calf hill but also a little speck of dust just above the middle of the photo.  

Well, I've left that in because it's a bird.  I think it's a new species for me because the profile and the way it flew seemed quite different to kestrels and sparrowhawks and it had a particularly long tail.  It headed off into the woods after a couple of flybys so I'm thinking perhaps a merlin (although I know little about them).

By the time I arrived home, I was hungry so plumped for food before taking Little Dog out.  I decided to try the instructions for poached eggs - something I've never mastered and was pleased to discover a foolproof microwave recipe with the new machine.

Catastrophic Fail!

Egg 1 exploded over the microwave but the central remains were solid.
Egg 2 after re-reading the instructions, adding an unmentioned cover and halving the time, was still too solid (although improved)

Eggs 3 and 4 were fried.

I shan't give up!  I've now watched a video with the perfect oozing middle and am thinking that maybe my mug was too small and I needed more water.  

Egg 1 was saved for tomorrow's egg mayo sandwich (but I was hungry so I've eaten that for afternoon tea)
Egg 2 was eaten because I was hungry whilst frying eggs 3 and 4.

I've just realised, that's four eggs in today's food intake.  Is that going to cause more problems?
Maybe I should plan something different for lunch tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.