Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

sharebike

Happy to be home and sleeping in my own bed after a wonderful trip with so many good memories …but I didn’t do well with the WBC while away.. missed last week’s challenge “spoons” altogether (altho contributed to Laneylou’s!)  and I didn’t manage to blip a bike either altho I saw lots.. but today in Seattle on a walk there were many subjects…

Like many cities I’ve been in recently (Glasgow, Edinburgh, Chicago) Seattle had a docking bike system all over the city where bikes (with helmets) could be rented.  For some reason, it was unsuccessful in Seattle and they were removed …so now we have “Sharebikes”  -which can be parked anywhere all over the city.   1000s of them.  This one is on the corner where I live, along with 5 others within 1 block.  There are 3 companies, yellow ofo, Orange Spin bikes, and these green Limebike which are my favorite (color) .   The bike association  says they are well used, mostly for short trips ..it costs $1 for 30 minutes and you need the app for the color bike you want to use.  I used to ride a bike all the time but have reluctantly given it up as too dangerous.  I think these are a great idea (but could I make the seat high enough for me?) but the bike riding infrastructure hasn’t made it any safer in this city I don’t think.    I saw someone riding a limebike on the mountain bike trail in freeway park today. (extra)


Managed to at least upload all my trip pix today…but I never got to put my June alaska photos on flickr as every time I thought about it the computer broke… so finally I’ve edited them down a bit more here and now I’ll start on Iceland, Yorkshire and Scotland   I need to stay home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.